AB Receives a Number of RCA awards at 2017 National Banquet

Rowing Community Celebrated by RCA
VANCOUVER, B.C. – Saturday, January 28, 2017 – Rowing Canada Aviron (RCA) celebrated the 36th Annual National Awards Banquet at the close of the RCA National Conference, jointly hosted with the World Rowing Coaches Conference. The evening also recognized Canada’s Olympic and Paralympic medallists from the lightweight women’s double sculls and the LTA Mixed4+.

Lindsay Jennerich and Victoria Nolan, medallists from the Olympic and Paralympic Games respectively, won top honours with the Senior Athlete and Para Athlete of the Year Awards. Nicole Hare, Under-23 World Champion in the women’s pair and Olympian, was recognized as top under-23 athlete and Emma Gray as Junior Athlete of the Year.

The 36th Annual Awards Banquet also recognized the work of the Canadian rowing community. Michael Simonson repeated as Coach of the Year, after another positive season at the Calgary Rowing Club. Along with on-water achievements, Simonson was recognized for his constructive and proactive approach in the boathouse. Following a successful job hosting the Canadian Masters Regatta, Regina Rowing Club was recognized with the Club Achievement of the Year, presented by Pearson Dunn.

The RCA Awards were jointly held with the World Rowing Award Gala where the international rowing community was celebrated in a busy Olympic and Paralympic year. For a list of winners, please see World Rowing.

Full list of recipients of RCA Annual Awards:

Coach of the Year
Michael Simonson, Calgary Rowing Club

Volunteer of the Year
Frans Slatter, Edmonton Rowing Club

Umpire of the Year
Donna Bliss, Rowing New Brunswick Aviron

Club Achievement of the Year, presented by Pearson Dunn
Regina Rowing Club

Tony Zasada Memorial Scholarship
Jessie Loutit, Calgary Rowing Club

Junior Athlete of the Year
Emma Gray, Winnipeg Rowing Club

Under-23 Athlete of the Year, Jack Guest Award
Nicole Hare, Calgary Rowing Club

Para Athlete of the Year, presented by Pride Mobility
Victoria Nolan, Argonaut Rowing Club

Senior Athlete of the Year, presented by Immunotec
Lindsay Jennerich, University of Victoria

Award of Merit
Mike Bagshawe

Lifetime Achievement Award
Tricia Smith

President’s Award
Brian Lamb and Donna Atkinson